An otterly wonderful day out

It is no secret that photographing wildlife is one of my favourite things in the whole world. I loved spending time watching London Wetlands Center resident otters. There are so full of character and charm, so playful and so fast too!

It was a rather dull, overcast day and I nearly shot on Aperture Priority but decided I was going to try my luck with Manual and set my shutter speed at 1/400, my aperture at f/11 but left my ISO in Auto as the clouds were moving and the light changing all the time.

The Instructor of the group was so knowledgeable in both the technicalities of photography as well as wildlife… It turns out he works with National Geographic!!!

Once we were done photographing the otters, we went over our photographs to discuss what we could have done better, etc etc and practiced a bit more on the abundance of wildlife around.

There were plenty of birds to shoot from Egyptian Ducks to Cranes. What a great day.

I’m now waiting for the weather to get a tad better so I can visit Bird World!

Paula, x

Leave a Reply

